Hi, Luis here!

I completed the mini-challenge that I announced in December, with christmas in between! This definitely helped me to have a bit more control on my MITs. I also began applying a simple schedule to make sure that I don’t get lazy on that. If you just want to read about the schedule, scroll down and skip the result of the challenge.

Initial MITs/Final MITs

Day 1: 2/2(2*)

Day 2: 6/2(2*)

Day 3: 5/2

Day 4: 5/1(1*)

Here I took a few days of doing NOTHING, and entirely ignoring any productivity system. Not really what I had thought to do though…

Day 5: 4/2(2*)

Day 6: 4/4(1*) Played videogames this day, example of what you should not do. Well, perhaps you can have a biweekly “mess up” day or something…

Day 7: 4/3(1*)

Total: 30/16(8*)

The end result is not incredibly bad, but I still feel that I need to improve a lot.

What I found that helps me TONS, is to define specific time slots to do things. Not something like, at 10 am I do this, at 11 am I do that, and so on. This is a problem, because if I for instance oversleep, I mess things up completely.

What I adopted is a schedule similar to this Pomodoro thingie.

SCHEDULE

My schedule gives plenty of free time (so one does not get into the “I feel like a slave” mood) and structures working time independently of the hour of the day, so no matter what time you wake up, or where you are, you can always use it. This is as follows:

– Wake up

– 30 min Shower + breakfast

MIT TIME:

– 1.5 h MIT1

– 30 min batch

– 1.5 h MIT2

– 30 min lunch

– 1.5 h MIT3

NON-MIT (“free”) TIME*:

– 2 h Batch+TODO

– 30 min snack

– 5 h Batch+TODO (and somewhere in between dinner)

– 1 h consume**

– Sleep

*I can follow this schedule or just do something else. I defined a sort of structure for my free time because I want to have some idea of what I want to do during my non-MIT time

**By “consume”, I mean watch movies, read fiction, play videogames… whatever involves obtaining entertainment, in opposition to “produce”.

This schedule assumes two things. I do 3 MITs every day. And I can do one MIT in 1.5 h. Both are just reference assumptions that are far from being written in stone. In fact, most of the time I need more than 1.5 h for one MIT (which means that most of the time I don’t complete 3 MITs every day).

In each 1.5 h slot I have a break of 10 minutes in between. So it’s not really 1.5 h, it is 1 h and 40 minutes. It goes like that:

– Work in MIT for 45 minutes.

– Take a 10 minutes break. Get away of the computer or whatever you’re using. Usually I make myself a tea, or drink water, do squats, walk a little bit…

– Work again in MIT for 45 minutes.

This schedule is not constrained to a certain hour of the day, which is perfect for me, since my waking up time tends to fluctuate, and I don’t have a fixed starting hour for being in the office (good things of doing a PhD!)

And that’s what I learned during this mini-challenge!

Soon the second mini-challenge (of 3) will come.

See you around.

